Terms and Conditions

The client declares that he understands the language in which the present General Terms and Conditions are written.

 

These General Terms and Conditions apply to all orders that you - the client - conclude with us - Verlingua. 

 

If you consider that deviations from these General Terms and Conditions are necessary for a specific individual order, this can be agreed upon. You must then submit these deviations to us in writing prior to the conclusion of the agreement for the order in question.

 

If no explicit request is submitted to Verlingua concerning deviations to the General Terms and Conditions, it is considered that those presented in this document are accepted. If no agreement is reached regarding any deviation from the General Terms and Conditions, those presented in this document stand.

 

  1. Establishment of the agreements
  • Each quote is valid for 30 (thirty) calendar days.
  • Orders are scheduled after you have agreed in writing to the specifications from the quote you received via email. From that moment on you, as the client, enter into an agreement with us and you agree to these General Terms and Conditions and all the information in the written quote.
  • If certain supporting materials (documents, sources, lists of terminology, etc.) are deemed necessary in order to guarantee the appropriate execution of the order, you are required to provide these supporting materials to assist in the conclusion of the agreement. In case of a delay in your providing these supporting materials, the initially suggested deadline is also susceptible to delay. The duration of this delay may be longer than the initial delay, for the simple reason that Verlingua will be required to modify the schedule of work.
  • If you make changes to the order after the conclusion of the agreement, we are entitled to adjust the delivery period and/or the fee, and to refuse the order if the delivery period is deemed to be unfeasible. In the latter case, you must pay for the already executed part of the assignment. Every addition and/or change after the order is considered as a separate order.
  1. Execution of orders
  • Verlingua is obliged to carry out all orders to the best of its knowledge and ability and to take into account your instructions and specific requirements.
  • You, as the client, are responsible for communicating specific requirements or wishes to us, prior to the establishment of the order.
  • Since language is subjective, two correction rounds are included in each order (unless otherwise stated in the agreement with respect to a specific order). If the execution of the order requires corrections, Verlingua must be given the opportunity to execute these at all times.
  • Verlingua retains the right to partially or fully seek the collaboration of sub-contractors or  third parties, if it is deemed that the specificity of the order requires this. We work with specialized freelance translators or language trainers for many orders, so that we can offer you the highest possible quality.
  • All employees and freelancers are bound by a confidentiality agreement regarding all contracts carried out by them. However, Verlingua is not liable for any violation of confidentiality by (freelance) employees.
  • You are responsible for the entirety of the legal obligations (including intellectual property) concerning the text provided for translation. Verlingua considers that you, as the client, have written the text and/or have permission to use the text and have it translated. Verlingua executes the client’s order and is also responsible for the necessary authorizations for public bodies, declarations and/or administrative regulations.
  1. Payments
  • Verlingua reserves the right to request a deposit or advanced payment in full when receiving orders.
  • Unless otherwise agreed in writing, invoice amounts are due and payable within thirty days of the date stated on the invoice. In the case of non-payment, Verlingua has the right to add penalty payments to the amount quoted on the invoice, without giving advanced formal notice, once the original payment deadline indicated on the invoice has lapsed. The penalty payments will be charged at 12% of the amount quoted on the invoice, with a minimum of 175 EUR, and will be subject to an 8.5% interest rate.
  • In the event of an objection, you must contest the invoice by means of a registered letter within 10 calendar days of receipt.
  • The used of the provided translation is considered proof that the translation is accepted.
  • If you cancel an order for any reason, you will be liable for the payment of the already executed part of the order, as well as a 15% additional fee on the part of the order not yet carried out, with a minimum of 125 EUR (to cover our having created a dossier for the order and other administrative costs). Naturally, we will provide you with the work already carried out.
  • In the event of non-compliance with the agreed payment conditions by the client, all outstanding invoices and/or debts become immediately due and Verlingua has the right, without any notice of default or judicial intervention, to suspend further deliveries and/or performances, or to regard the agreement as dissolved without prejudice to its claim for compensation.
  • All judicial and extrajudicial collection costs, including costs for lawyers, bailiffs and collection agencies, are payable by the client.
  • Verlingua can receive a request to issue an invoice to a third party with whom Verlingua has not entered into a contractual agreement. As part of the services offered to clients, Verlingua can accept such a request. However, if the invoice is not paid, Verlingua reserves the right to then issue the invoice to the original requestee. In sum, the non-payment of the invoice by the third party does not relinquish the original requestee of their responsibilities.
  1. Liability
  • You must report complaints about the work to us as soon as possible, and, in any case, notify us in writing within ten (10) working days of delivery. However, issuing a complaint does not relieve you of your payment obligation within the set period.
  • If the complaint is well-founded, the translator will improve or replace the work delivered within a reasonable time or, if we cannot reasonably meet the desire for improvement, grant a discount on the price.
  • Unless Verlingua is seriously and demonstrably at fault, or in case of fraud, we can never be held liable for any (consequential) damage suffered by the client, directly or indirectly, in any event, with regard to any errors, including, but not limited to, mistakes, omissions, incorrect use of words. Naturally, we cannot accept any liability for errors, defects and ambiguities in the original text delivered by the client.
  • In the event that we are seriously and demonstrably at fault in the execution of the order, our liability is only limited to the amount of the invoice value (excluding VAT) of the relevant order that we charge to the client. Verlingua can never be held liable for all other forms of damage, such as indirect financial damage, trading loss, delay loss and lost profit.
  • In no case will Verlingua be liable for complaints regarding style, layout, characters, presentation, quality or format of the carrier, software, etc.
  • For technical translations, legal translations and other translations with data, figures, formulas, addresses, etc., it is the final responsibility of the client to check all figures and data in the target text once they have received the translations and, if necessary, to correct these before publishing and/or distributing the translated document internally or externally. The responsibility and the risk of the delivered translations are borne by the client.
  • If, you, the client, suffer damage due to late delivery of the translation, you are only entitled to compensation for the demonstrable (consequential) damage suffered, with a maximum of 250 EUR. Verlingua is not obliged to pay compensation if the late delivery is the result of force majeure or of a delay with the postal service.
  • The right of the client to a possible claim compensation will, in any case, lapse after two months of delivery of the order.
  • Verlingua is not liable for damage caused by the use of information technology and modern means of communication, such as e-mail, internet, fax, etc. In addition, Verlingua is not liable for late delivery caused by strikes, business failures, force majeure as specified in Article 5, network or server malfunctions, or electronic viruses over which it has no direct control.
  • In these General Terms and Conditions, in addition to what is understood in the law and jurisprudence, force majeure refers to all unforeseen circumstances on which the translation agency is unable to exert any influence, and which prevent the translation agency from fulfilling its obligations. Force majeure includes but is not limited to: fire, accident, illness, strike, riots, blockades, riots, war, terrorist attacks, government measures, transport impediments, bankruptcy of the client, disruptions in the services of internet providers, negligence from suppliers, epidemics, floods, storms, etc. During the period of force majeure, the obligations of the translation agency will be suspended. If this period of force majeure lasts longer than two (2) months, both parties, namely Verlingua and the client, are entitled to dissolve the agreement unilaterally, without either of these parties being obliged to pay any compensation in that case. If at the commencement of the force majeure the Verlingua has already partially fulfilled its obligations or can only partly fulfil its obligations, we are entitled to invoice the work already carried out separately, and the client is obliged to pay this invoice as if it concerned a separate agreement.
  • Sending of documents always takes place at the expense and risk of the client. We always insist, however, on not delivering any important documents through the post. If the decision is made to do so for a specific reason, this always takes place at the risk of the client.
  • The nullity or annulment of one of these provisions does not affect the validity of the other provisions.
  • Belgian law applies to every agreement with Verlingua. Any disputes will be submitted to the competent court of the judicial district of Kortrijk.

 

Privacy Policy

To provide you with the smoothest possible service, we keep certain information about you. However, we believe that the protection of your privacy is essential and therefore strive to keep your data up to date in a fair and transparent manner.

 

This only concerns data that you have provided to us (e.g. your telephone number or your address). We never obtain information through third parties that are not involved in the language assignment and don’t keep any information about your surfing behaviour on our website or on other websites. Of course, your information will also not be delivered to external parties that are not involved in the language assignment.

 

In other words, we limit ourselves to the relevant data that is required to carry out your translation or your language training in the most efficient and high-quality manner possible.

 

Which data do we keep track of?

 

  • Your name & family name
  • Your address
    • So that we can deliver your translation to the correct address, for example.
  • Your e-mail address
    • So that we can contact you, for example, in case of questions or to inform you about our services.
  • Your phone number
    • So that we can contact you in case of urgent questions.
  • Your possible VAT number
    • So that you receive a correct invoice.
  • The documents you provide us with and your translations
    • So that we can translate consistently and take action quickly in case you can’t find a certain translation right away.
  • Specific quality requirements that you need from us
    • So that we can offer you the best possible service.

If you work with us for translation or a language training, we also refer you to this privacy statement and we ask you explicitly to agree to this. No hidden snakes in the grass.

 

Moreover, we don’t retain your data longer than deemed necessary to provide you with the best possible service (e.g. to answer your questions, to inform you about our services, etc..).

 

If you wish, you can ask us for a copy of all the information we keep about you. You can of course also request in writing that we delete or modify your data at any time. You must take into account that we can no longer supply certain services (with the same level of quality).

 

For example, if you ask us to delete your address from our data, please note that we must ask you for your address each time. This may cause delays in sending a certified translation, for instance.

 

To guarantee the safe processing of your personal data, we also only work with secure company environments that are all compliant with the GDPR regulation.

 

If you have questions about our privacy statement, please do not hesitate to contact us via info@verlingua.be. We will be happy to answer your questions!

 

However, if you are not satisfied with our reply and you have a complaint about our data processing, you can also contact the Belgian Privacy Commission:

 

Data Protection Authority

Drukpersstraat 35, 1000 BRUSSEL

Tel. 02/274.48.00

Fax. 02/274.48.35

contact@apd-gba.be

Conditions générales

Le donneur d’ordre déclare comprendre la langue dans laquelle les présentes conditions générales ont été rédigées.

 

Les présentes conditions générales s’appliquent à toutes les commandes individuelles que vous - Donneur d’ordre - nous - Verlingua - confiez.  

 

Il est envisageable de convenir de certaines dérogations à ces présentes conditions générales pour une commande distincte spécifique si vous l’estimez nécessaire. Vous devrez, le cas échéant, nous fournir ces dérogations par écrit, préalablement à la conclusion du contrat pour la commande en question.

 

Si aucune demande explicite n’a été adressée à Verlingua concernant l’application de dérogations aux conditions générales, vous êtes supposé accepter que les présentes conditions générales prévalent. Si vous ne parvenez pas à un accord concernant les dérogations aux conditions, les présentes conditions générales restent en vigueur.

 

  1. Conclusion des contrats
  • Chaque remise de prix est valable pendant une durée de 30 (trente) jours calendrier.
  • Les commandes sont planifiées après remise de votre accord écrit avec les mentions issues de la remise de prix que vous recevez par e-mail. À compter de ce moment, vous entrez, en tant que Donneur d’ordre, en relation contractuelle avec nous et vous acceptez les présentes conditions générales et toutes les mentions figurant dans la remise de prix écrite.
  • Si certains supports (documents, sources, listes terminologiques...) devaient s’avérer nécessaires afin de garantir l’exécution correcte de la commande, vous êtes tenu de nous les fournir lors de la conclusion du contrat. En cas de livraison tardive de ces supports par le Donneur d’ordre, le délai de livraison est susceptible d’être prolongé. La durée de la prolongation peut s’avérer supérieure à ce retard, pour la simple raison que nous adaptons notre planning en fonction des supports supplémentaires reçus au moment de la conclusion du contrat.
  • Si le Donneur d’ordre apporte des modifications à la commande après conclusion du contrat, nous sommes en droit d’adapter le délai de livraison et/ou le prix proposé mais aussi de refuser la commande si le délai de livraison s’avère intenable. Dans ce dernier cas, le Donneur d’ordre sera redevable du paiement pour la partie de la commande qui aurait déjà été exécutée. Tout complément et/ou modification après remise de la commande sera considéré comme une commande à part.
  1. Exécution des commandes
  • Verlingua s’engage à exécuter chaque commande au mieux de ses connaissances et capacités, en tenant compte de vos indications et exigences spécifiques.
  • Le Donneur d’ordre est, lui aussi, personnellement responsable de nous communiquer les exigences ou souhaits spécifiques préalablement à la réalisation de la commande.
  • Étant donné le caractère subjectif d’une langue, chaque commande inclut deux tours de correction (sauf convention contraire dans le contrat portant sur une commande donnée). Si l’exécution de la commande nécessite des corrections, Verlingua doit, à tout moment, être mise en mesure de les apporter.
  • Verlingua a le droit d’avoir intégralement ou partiellement recours à des sous-traitants ou à des tiers. Nous travaillons par exemple avec des traducteurs et des formateurs en langue spécialisés dans le cadre de très nombreuses commandes, afin de pouvoir vous offrir le plus haut niveau de qualité qui soit.
  • Tous nos collaborateurs et freelances sont tenus au respect du secret professionnel par le biais de contrats individuels conclus avec eux. Verlingua ne peut, cependant, être tenue responsable d’une éventuelle violation du secret professionnel dont se rendraient coupables des collaborateurs (freelances).
  • Le Donneur d’ordre est responsable de l’ensemble des droits (y compris la propriété intellectuelle) concernant le texte fourni. Verlingua considère que le Donneur d’ordre a rédigé le texte lui-même et/ou a la permission d’en faire usage ou de le faire traduire. Verlingua exécute la commande du client et est également responsable des autorisations éventuelles des pouvoirs publics, des attestations et/ou des règlements administratifs.
  1. Paiements
  • Verlingua a le droit de demander des acomptes ou le paiement préalable du montant intégral lors de l’exécution de ses commandes.
  • Sauf convention écrite contraire, les montants des factures sont exigibles à l’expiration d’un délai de trente jours à compter de la date de facturation. Dans le cas de non-paiement, le montant figurant sur la facture sera majoré, de plein droit et sans la moindre mise en demeure, d’une indemnisation forfaitaire de 12% du montant de la facture avec un minimum de 175 EUR, et sera majoré d’intérêts à un taux de 8,5% à compter de l’échéance de la facture.
  • En cas d’objection, vous devez contester la facture au moyen d’un courrier recommandé dans les 10 jours calendrier après réception de celle-ci.
  • La mise en exploitation de la traduction témoignera toutefois de l’acceptation du résultat.
  • Si, pour quelque raison que ce soit, vous décidez d’annuler une commande, vous serez redevable du paiement de la partie de la commande qui aurait déjà été réalisée, ainsi qu’une indemnisation de 15% sur la partie non-réalisée, avec un minimum de 125 EUR (pour la constitution du dossier et le suivi administratif). Nous mettrons bien entendu le travail déjà effectué à votre disposition.
  • En cas de non-respect, par le Donneur d’ordre, des conditions de paiement convenues, toutes les factures et/ou créances impayées seront immédiatement exigibles. Verlingua a en outre le droit, sans mise en demeure préalable ni intervention judiciaire, de suspendre les autres livraisons et/ou prestations ou de considérer le contrat comme résilié sans préjudice de son droit à une indemnisation.
  • Verlingua peut recevoir la requête d’établir la facture au nom d’une tierce partie envers laquelle Verlingua n’a aucun engagement contractuel. En guise de service client, Verlingua peut accéder à cette requête. Or, si la facture n’est pas payée, Verlingua se réserve le droit d’adresser la facture au cocontractant original, à savoir, le Donneur d’ordre original. En somme, la facturation à une tierce partie n’implique aucunement une renonciation d’un droit quel qu’il soit à l’égard du Donneur d’ordre original.
  1. Responsabilité
  • Vous êtes tenu de nous faire part, par écrit et dans les plus brefs délais, de toute plainte au sujet du travail livré et ce, dans tous les cas, dans les dix (10) jours ouvrables à compter de la livraison. La manifestation d’une plainte ne vous exonère cependant pas de votre obligation de paiement dans le délai fixé.
  • Si la plainte s’avère fondée, le traducteur améliorera ou remplacera le travail livré dans un délai raisonnable ou, si nous ne sommes raisonnablement pas en mesure de répondre à la l’exigence d’amélioration, accordera une réduction sur le prix.
  • Sauf dans le cas où Verlingua se rend coupable d’une erreur grave et démontrable ou en cas de fraude, elle ne peut jamais être responsable des éventuels dommages (consécutifs) subis directement ou indirectement par le Donneur d’ordre à quelque titre que ce soit et relatifs à des erreurs, des manquements, des choix terminologiques erronés, des omissions ou toute autre erreur. Nous déclinons bien entendu toute responsabilité en cas d’erreurs, d’imperfections et d’ambiguïtés dans le texte fourni par le Donneur d’ordre.  
  • Dans le cas où nous nous rendrions bel et bien coupables d’une erreur grave et démontrable eu égard à l’exécution de la commande, notre responsabilité se limiterait uniquement au montant HTVA de la facture de la commande concernée que nous facturons au Donneur d’ordre. L’agence de traduction ne peut jamais être tenue responsable de toute autre forme de dommage comme des préjudices financiers indirects, des pertes d’exploitation, des retards ou un manque à gagner.
  • Verlingua décline toute responsabilité en cas de plaintes portant sur le style, la mise en page, les caractères, la présentation, la qualité ou le format du support, le logiciel, etc.
  • Dans le cadre de traductions techniques, juridiques ou d’autres types de traduction contenant des données chiffrées, des formules, des adresses, etc., il incombe au Donneur d’ordre, en tant que responsable final, de vérifier tous les chiffres et données contenus dans le texte cible après réception des textes traduits et de les corriger, au besoin, avant publication et/ou distribution du document traduit en interne à l’entreprise ou en externe. La responsabilité et les risques de la traduction livrée sont à la charge du Donneur d’ordre.
  • Dans le cas où le Donneur d’ordre subirait un dommage résultant d’une livraison tardive de la traduction, il peut uniquement prétendre à une indemnisation pour le dommage (consécutif) démontrable subi, avec un plafond maximal de 250 (deux cent cinquante) euros. Verlingua n’est pas tenue à l’indemnisation des dommages si la livraison tardive résulte d’un cas de force majeure ou d’une livraison tardive par la poste.
  • Le droit du Donneur d’ordre à la réclamation d’éventuels dommages et intérêts expire, dans tous les cas, à l’issue d’un délai de deux mois après la livraison de la commande.
  • Verlingua décline toute responsabilité en cas de dommages résultant de l’utilisation des technologies de l’information et des moyens de communication modernes, comme l’e-mail, Internet, le fax, etc. Verlingua ne peut, en outre, être tenue responsable d’un retard de livraison qui serait la conséquence de grèves, de perturbation d’exploitation, de cas de force majeure tels que précisés à l’article 5, de dysfonctionnements du réseau ou du serveur ou de virus électroniques sur lesquels elle n’exerce aucun contrôle direct.
  • Par « force majeure », on entend, dans les présentes conditions générales, outre ce que prévoient la législation et la jurisprudence, toutes les circonstances imprévues, sur lesquelles l’agence de traduction ne peut exercer de contrôle direct et qui empêchent l’agence de traduction de s’acquitter de ses obligations. Par « force majeure », on entend en tout cas, mais sans s’y limiter : incendie, accident, maladies, grève, émeutes, blocus, échauffourées, guerre, attentats terroristes, mesures gouvernementales, entraves au transport, faillite du Donneur d’ordre, dysfonctionnements des services offerts par les fournisseurs d’accès à Internet, négligence de la part des fournisseurs, épidémies, inondations, tempêtes, etc. Les obligations incombant à l’agence de traduction sont suspendues pendant la période de force majeure. Si cette période de force majeure dure plus de deux (2) mois, les deux parties, c’est-à-dire l’agence de traduction et le Donneur d’ordre, ont le droit de résilier unilatéralement le contrat sans qu’aucune de ces deux parties soit redevable, le cas échéant, d’une quelconque indemnisation. Si l’agence de traduction a déjà rempli partiellement ses obligations lorsque le cas de force majeure se déclare, ou qu’elle n’est en mesure de les remplir que partiellement, l’agence de traduction a le droit de facturer distinctement le travail déjà réalisé et le Donneur d’ordre est tenu d’honorer cette facture comme s’il s’agissait d’un contrat distinct.
  • L’envoi des pièces visées se fait toujours aux frais et aux risques du Donneur d’ordre. Nous recommandons cependant vivement au Donneur d’ordre de ne pas envoyer de documents importants par courrier postal. Si, pour quelque raison que ce soit, le client opte tout de même pour un envoi postal, cet envoi est systématiquement aux risques du Donneur d’ordre.
  • La nullité ou l’abrogation de l’une des présentes dispositions n’affecte en rien la mise en œuvre des autres dispositions.
  • Chaque contrat conclu avec Verlingua est régi par le droit belge. Les éventuels litiges seront soumis au juge compétent de l’arrondissement judiciaire de Courtrai.

 

Déclaration de confidentialité

 

Afin de vous offrir le meilleur service qui soit, nous conservons certaines données à votre égard. La protection de votre vie privée nous tient à cœur et nous mettons donc un point d’honneur à conserver vos données de la manière la plus intègre et la plus transparente possible.

 

Ces données sont uniquement celles que vous nous avez vous-même fournies (par ex. : votre numéro de téléphone ou votre adresse). Nous ne recevons jamais d’informations par l’intermédiaire de tiers n’entretenant aucun lien avec la commande linguistique et ne conservons aucune information relative à votre comportement de navigation sur Internet, que ce soit sur notre site ou sur d’autres. Vos données ne sont bien évidemment en aucun cas fournies à des tiers n’entretenant aucun lien avec la commande linguistique.

 

En d’autres termes, nous nous limitons aux données pertinentes et nécessaires afin de vous offrir une traduction ou un cours de langue de qualité le plus efficacement possible.

 

Quelles données conservons-nous ?

 

  • Votre prénom et votre nom de famille
  • Votre adresse
    • Afin, par exemple, de pouvoir vous envoyer votre traduction à l’adresse exacte.
  • Votre adresse e-mail
    • Afin, par exemple, de pouvoir vous contacter si nous avons des questions ou pour vous informer sur nos services.
  • Votre numéro de téléphone
    • Afin de pouvoir vous contacter si nous avons des questions urgentes.
  • Votre éventuel numéro de TVA
    • Pour que vous receviez une facture correcte.
  • Les documents que vous nous fournissez et vos traductions
    • Afin de vous livrer des traductions cohérentes et intervenir rapidement si vous deviez ne plus remettre la main sur une traduction bien précise.
  • Les exigences de qualité spécifiques que vous attendez de nous
    • Afin de pouvoir vous offrir un service optimal.

Si vous désirez recourir à nos services pour une traduction ou un cours de langue, nous vous redirigerons également vers la présente déclaration de confidentialité et nous vous demanderons de marquer explicitement votre accord. Pas de mauvaises surprises, donc.

 

Nous ne conservons vos données personnelles pas plus longtemps que la durée présumée nécessaire pour vous offrir le meilleur service qui soit (par ex. : pour répondre à vos questions, vous informer sur nos services…).

 

Si vous le souhaitez, vous pouvez nous demander une copie de toutes les données que nous conservons à votre égard. Vous avez bien entendu la possibilité de nous adresser une demande écrite à tout moment pour que nous modifiions ou supprimions vos données. Le cas échéant, vous devez cependant être conscient que nous ne serons plus en mesure d’assurer certains services (avec un niveau de qualité équivalent).

 

Si vous nous demandez, par exemple, de supprimer votre adresse de nos données, sachez que nous serons contraints de vous la demander systématiquement par la suite. Ce qui pourrait se solder par un retard dans l’envoi d’une traduction légalisée, par exemple.

 

Afin de garantir un traitement sécurisé de vos données à caractère personnel, nous travaillons exclusivement avec des environnements d’exploitation sécurisés, tous conformes au RGPD.

 

Si vous avez la moindre question quant à la présente déclaration de confidentialité, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter à l’adresse info@verlingua.be. Nous nous ferons un plaisir de vous répondre !

 

Si, en revanche, notre réponse devait ne pas vous donner satisfaction et si vous souhaitez déposer plainte par rapport au traitement que nous faisons de vos données, vous pouvez vous adresser à la Commission belge de la protection de la vie privée :

 

Commission de la protection de la vie privée

Rue de la Presse 35, 1000 BRUXELLES

Tél. : 02/274.48.00

Fax : 02/274.48.35

commission@privacycommission.be